224th G-View: Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma☆Illya 2wei

Featured Image -- 782

Ohhhhh God, I finally finished this season. What a fucking mess. Worth it for Kuro and Bazett, but still a fucking mess. Still enjoyed it though.

It’s funny how 2wei is about looking for a place to belong and on the technical level of things, this season is doing the exact same thing. Because as far as I’m concerned, Prisma Illya works amazingly as an alternative mahou shoujo themed version of FSN, but as a magical girl show it actually falls flat on its face. It has way too much slice of life, and though I actually like Illya’s Muggle friends (Tatsuko is actually my favorite), there’s honestly too many of them.

The dodgeball and cooking episodes were fun, but I could’ve done without them, honestly. Save that stuff for the specials, which I still need to watch. However, I did love those bonding moments between Kuro and Illya and the “big sister challenge” stuff, regardless. So I guess I can’t complain too much.

I actually like this version of Shirou. He’s more fluffy, less depressed and meek, and doesn’t say anything that’ll get him hit, his adoptive mother and Sella just pile on top of him anyway. Still not going to hold a candle to Punished Shirou in 3rei, but w/e.

Kuro is honestly a great character, but her appearance basically stops all plot progression. And I dislike how it took 8 episodes for Baz to come in, but when she did, things got fucking awesome until the end.

Silver Link knew they fucked up, and I’m sure there wasn’t enough content in the manga to just jump to 3rei without them obtaining the 8th card, which is why they made Herz. That I’ve watched 2 episodes of and already feel a lot better about.

Yeah overall, I liked this season but thought it was pretty weak compared to season 1. Maybe stronger in the yuri department and it had Kuro, but I can’t get over how bad the pacing was. Oh well.

The Yuri Nation

I enjoyed the first season quite a bit (possibly even more than the main series and its prequel) so it was a given I’d also pick up the second season. Did it manage to surpass, remain as good or underwhelm? Let’s find out as we take a look at the second season of Magical Girl Illya, 2wei.

Illya 2wei

As usual when it comes to reviews of sequels here’s the link to the review of the prequel.

187th G-View: Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma☆Illya

View original post 714 more words

Leave a Reply

