Sailor Moon Crystal episode 38: Impending Doom

I had heard the manga had Saturn quote Yeats at one point, but that wasn’t in this episode, so I think I’ll add my two cents:

“Turning and turning in the widening gyre
The falcon cannot hear the falconer
Things fall apart
The center cannot hold
Mere anarchy is loosed upon the world.”

As well as,

“I am become Death, Destroyer of Worlds.”

I was surprised at how much they were actually dragging out this finale. I can’t really complain at all. Even with all the repeat shots, it was amazing the whole way through. I didn’t want to believe it was over when it was, either. The animation for the hair on the Inners as they were looking on in shock at the whole scene of Usagi sacrificing herself was really nice too.

Tuxedo La Smoking Bomber finally got animated, and its basically a small scale Kamekameha. Nice. Still don’t know why Tux gets an attack, but then again, I don’t know why he gets an OP either. Not much to complain about here.

What I love about this episode (and I think I’ll probably watch it again) is that this is the moment we finally get to see Sailor Saturn and Hotaru Tomoe shine as characters. As much as I loved them in the 90s version, they always felt like plot devices to me. There was soooo much more I wanted to see done with their characters, and while this episode didn’t completely satisfy me, nevertheless it was everything I hoped we would finally get.

Without question, Super Sailor Moon will survive, somehow. Not even planet-wide black (looks purple to me though) sludge will keep her down.

Can’t believe its ending next week. Really gonna miss this season. Toei did a great job and finally delivered.

Your coverage of it was great all the way through as well, so thanks for that.

The Yuri Nation

We’re at the home stretch of this arc peeps. Let’s see how the penultimate episode went down.

View original post 417 more words

Leave a Reply

