Selector Infected WIXOSS Review

At first as I started reading this, I thought you were going to discredit WIXOSS on the grounds that this was made to follow in the footsteps of Madoka or that you were going to imply that with Madoka Magica existing, this show can’t be as great is a BAD thing.

Nevertheless, you did none of that. You bluntly yet explicitly and thoughtfully explained all the things this show is doing in its first half to succeed in what it wants to do. You have clarified and showed a great understanding of these characters and the themes/struggles they go through. You have pointed out that the card game elements don’t matter since we’re focusing on their struggles. As a person who loves both Madoka and this show, as well as any other character piece, I have to give you a huge round of applause. You might be the first person I’ve seen who has said EXACTLY what all the things I love about WIXOSS truly are.

I don’t mean to shower you in praise, but this was a really excellent review and I’m super excited for Selector Spread WIXOSS in a few weeks. Thank you for doing this great show such great justice, even if some people are going to be quick to dismiss it as ‘another Madoka ripoff’ like we feared.

I’d also like to note that while Madoka Magica is a masterpiece and all, it is NOT a ‘true’ deconstruction of magical girls themselves IMO, but more so of the elements which so define the magical girl genre: loss of humanity, the power of love and friendship cannot save all, you can choose fate but you can’t escape it, etc. But yet, to my knowledge, Wixoss IS a deconstruction of magical trading card games, and even if it doesn’t do the genre itself the most justice (so far at least), it’s still a triumph in its own right. 🙂

Also I love this comment from a fellow blogger:

“Deconstruction itself is overvalued. Madoka is clearly NOT a deconstruction of the mahou shoujou anime, because it ends by stating that friendship, love and belief in your friends DO conquer in the end, which I for one don’t find sappy or stupid at all. The modern/post-modern raging against the happy ending is just what Oscar Wilde said.”

Too true my friend. Too true. That’s why Rebellion and Yuuki Yuuna’s endings were flawless and I’ll defend them to the death. 😀

The Pantless Anime Blogger

This is review number two hundred and eighty eight. This anime is still part of the Spring 2014 lineup. The anime I’ll be reviewing is called Selector Infected WIXOSS. It’s a twelve episode anime about Madoka playing Yugi Oh. Ahahahaha. I’m laughing at myself. Let’s read on.

View original post 6,403 more words

Leave a Reply

