212th G-View: Selector Infected WIXOSS

I remember how one night I finally caved into watching this and I ended up finishing it by noon the next day. I had my doubts of course, but when I was done and even while I was watching, I was absolutely addicted. And just WOW. I LOVED it SO MUCH.

I mean, yeah it was like Madoka at first, but then it did some things different? And did that bother me? No, not at all. Because even though Madoka’s my favorite thing in the world, that doesn’t mean I’m not open to watching something that may or may not be better even if it doesn’t take her throne as my favorite anime in existence. Plus I wasn’t a fan of cardgame anime and didn’t really grow up on Yu Gi Oh, so tbh I didn’t really know what to expect.

But no I was fucking hooked by episode 3 or 4. It was just THAT GOOD. And I can’t be the only one who felt more of a Black Rock Shooter vibe to it than anything else. Even shared some similarities to Utena (thematically speaking, its a completely different story with completely different characters and the fact that JC Staff animated/produced both is entirely a coincidence).

I think my favorites would have to be Hitoe and Iona. Although toward the very end, I really fell in love with Hanayo too. Goddammit dem Ayako Kawasumi feels. ;-;

I also love the music and while the OP isn’t that great, the ED is pretty something. I mean, it’s Cyua, the woman who sang Blumenkranz. I can’t NOT love it.

Also, when that season finale came…oh boy…I thought I was going to die waiting for the next season. I became so addicted. But I’m truly glad I picked up this show. It was just really awesome. And I ship IonaRukoTama so HARD.

Easily the best anime of 2014. No contest. Can’t wait to see what you’ve written about season 2.

The Yuri Nation

Let me start this one by avoiding sugarcoating things. Viewers who dislike angst filled storylines should not bother picking this one up. The same goes for the “It’s a Madoka and Yu-Gi-Oh ripoff” crowd. If readers do not have an issue with either of these two statements, read on as we take a look at the first season of the “WIXOSS Story”, Selector Infected WIXOSS.

Selector Infected WIXOSS

View original post 913 more words

Leave a Reply

